Reality

Holidays, special occasions and celebrations, a buzzing social life. Nope. Well, a bit, but not exactly party animal style.

3.30am. Awake. Again. It could be de ja vu, only I’m so tired all the time that it must be the incessant routine of it .

20 minutes. For what, just to get from the front door to being strapped into the car? Hmmm.

An hour. In to which you need to cram everything that you could possibly want to do with a day. Only you need to do the housework too. Or, to have a temper tantrum because you chose the wrong trolley at the supermarket.

Seemingly endless hours of monotony and frustration. The daily grind, somewhere that isn’t as good as it used to be.

You may be starting to realise why there hasn’t been a great deal of activity round these parts over the last couple of months.

This is my reality. Something has to give, and recently it has been this.

Don’t get me wrong, I adore my little bundle of … hmmm, I should chose my words carefully here … joy? … sometimes … awe-inspiring energy? … yes, that sounds positive, whilst leaving room for a sense that someone (not the energetic one) may be shattered as a result. Yes, I absolutely dote upon my little ball of awe-inspiring energy.

This is all alright though. I took two weeks annual leave from work over the Christmas holidays; it was a wonderful fortnight: relaxing with my little corner of the family, celebrating with extended family, not thinking about work at all. It gave me the opportunity to reflect on how I was living my life, and I came back with a better sense of perspective and a clear head. My resolution is to leave work at work. We’ll see how it goes.

Anyway.

Happy New Year! Rather belated I know, but better late than never.

I’m not going to promise that you’ll see more of us than you have done recently. I do promise though that, when you do see us, I will do my best to make it worth reading (and eating) 🙂 .

Another reality is that, at this time of year, many of us are trying to fix the sins we committed over the festive period, i.e.  the drinking, just because it’s Christmas or New Year, the overeating at the everyday mealtimes that become full-on feasts, again, just because of the time of year, and the grazing on the chocolates and nuts etc. that seem to adorn every flat surface in sight, again, just because it’s that time of year. Well, my birthday is January 24th, exactly a month after this madness (although, what with office Christmas parties and catching up with friends before the ‘vegetating with the family’ season hits, I suppose the madness starts two months before my birthday really). Whatever, every year I make sure that any weight that has snuck up on me throughout the temporary loss of rational decision-making power, is gone by my birthday. At this I never fail.

Scientists, or someone else equally as pessimistic, have decided my birthday is the most depressing day of the year. I am lucky then because it means I never have a most depressing day of the year … so long as I don’t fail, if I did I think I would be depressed, and I can’t let that happen on my birthday.

So what have I been eating that has yet again helped me ditch the pounds? Well I never turn into a rabbit like some people do this time of year; winter just isn’t a salad kind of season, even winter ones. I lie, I am slightly addicted to Greek salad (I know, not in any way seasonal), so I have had that quite a lot for my lunches at work; and hummus and pitta breads. For dinners I have mainly survived on what I call veggie pasta (although I feel I should give it a more attractive title if it is to be given to the world: Roasted Vegetable pasta; or Penne di verdure arrosto). I have also eaten a lot of fish; it is a compromise between me wanting vegetarian (light) food, and my rather carnivorous husband’s desire for meat. The plate I have enjoyed most since my I-must-behave-month started is Swordfish with panzanella (Pesce spada con panzanella). Leicester has a great market and is great for your more unusual kinds of ingredients, but it all means going into town; I really envy my in-laws as they have a wonderful butcher, baker, grocer and fishmonger right at the bottom of their road! It was at the latter that we found the swordfish.

I know that none of this sounds like its going to make it into the next issue of weight watchers magazine, indeed it is all food that I enjoy at any time of year. The effort comes from not adding pudding, being mindful of portion sizes and cutting out my two mightiest vices: coca cola and chocolate. Besides, salad isn’t for everyone, you have to have a healthy mind to have a healthy body (strict dieting is no good for this mind) and above all, every year: it works!

I hope you’re all feeling lighter now that the festive season is over. Here’s to a happy and healthy new year to you all.

I’ll try to get some more of these recipes up soon, enjoy the veggie pasta in the meantime though 🙂

One thought on “Reality

  1. Pingback: 新年好 (Happy New Year – Chinese style)! « eight potatoes

Leave a Reply

